Main Content

Disaster Centers Close - Help Still Available

Release date: 
March 27, 2008
Release Number: 

LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- The state's last Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) closes on Friday, March 28. Help will still be available, and only a phone call away, for residents affected by the Jan. 7 ? March 14, flooding in northern Indiana.?

Disaster assistance continues through the helpline option at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or for the speech and-hearing impaired 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).? Residents should call this resource to update their contact information or ask any recovery questions. Multilingual recovery information in several languages is available through the helpline. On-line disaster information remains available 24 hours a day at

The centers have seen a significant decline in visitors recently and their closure represents a milestone in the region's recovery efforts. Since the flooding started in northern Indiana in early January, more than 2,000 area residents have taken the opportunity to meet face-to-face with disaster recovery specialists from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), other government agencies and volunteer organizations at one of several area DRCs.

To date, 2,878 Indiana residents have applied for disaster assistance. The total disaster funds approved for individuals affected by the disaster now tops $13.7 million. This includes approximately $7 million in low-interest SBA disaster loans for individuals and businesses.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or, for the speech or hearing impaired, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA Web site

Indiana residents and business owners in the 21 counties included in the presidential disaster declaration have until March 31 to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Eligible residents and business owners who sustained damage from storms and flooding that occurred from Jan. 7 - March 14, should register for disaster assistance immediately.? New applications will not be accepted after the March 31 deadline.

Loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by that date.

The 21 counties included in the Indiana presidential disaster declaration are Allen, Benton, Carroll, Cass, Dekalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Huntington, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Noble, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tippecanoe, Whitley and White.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:17
State/Tribal Government or Region: