Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Closing

Release date: 
March 7, 2008
Release Number: 

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Officials from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency and Kentucky's Division of Emergency Management said that all Disaster Recovery Centers currently open in the commonwealth of Kentucky, except Monroe County, will be closing immediately due to inclement weather. Some will not be reopening at their previous location, however anyone in the affected counties seeking services can go to one of the other Disaster Recovery Centers, weather permitting, opening on Monday, March 10, in their area.

The Disaster Recovery Centers scheduled to open on Monday are at the following locations:

Disaster Recovery Centers Opening Monday, March 10
Operating Hours: 8 a.m.-6 pm Daily

Hopkins County
City Hall
106 Northeast Railroad St.
White Plains, KY 42464

Spencer County
Emergency Medical Service
44 Spears Drive
Taylorsville, KY 40071

Shelby County
Shelby County Emergency Management Office
98 Seventh Street
Shelbyville, KY 40066

Bath County
Bath County Extension Office
2914 East Highway 60
Owingsville, KY 40360

Harrison County
Search & Rescue Squad
113 West Pike Street
Cynthiana, KY 41031

Nicholas County
National Guard Armory
2299 Concrete Road
Carlisle, KY 40311

Representatives of various state and federal agencies, including representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration, will be on hand to answer questions and provide recovery information. Those affected by the early February storms and tornadoes may receive assistance at any Disaster Recovery Center or Mobile Disaster Recovery Center in the commonwealth of Kentucky.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:18
State/Tribal Government or Region: