Main Content

Certain Oregon Nonprofits May Be Eligible for FEMA Aid

Release date: 
January 14, 2008
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- Certain private nonprofit agencies providing essential governmental services affected by the December 1-17, 2007 severe storms, wind, mudslides, landslides and flooding may be eligible for assistance under the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance Program.

Qualifying private non-profits are those that provide education, medical, custodial care, emergency, utility, certain irrigation facilities, and other essential governmental services.

Below is a summary of what kinds of aid may be available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency's, (FEMA) Public Assistance Program.

Basic eligibility requirements for private nonprofits:

  • Have a 501(c), (d), or (e) IRS designation, state tax-exempt status and bylaws.
  • Have facilities or offer services in one of the nine counties designated for Public Assistance aid.
  • Have damaged facilities or expenses that were caused by the flooding and severe storms between December 1-17, 2007.

Kinds of assistance that may be available to eligible nonprofits:

  • Grants may be available for 75 percent of the cost of emergency services and debris removal related to the disaster.
  • Agencies that provide critical services may be eligible for 75 percent of the costs of returning damaged sites to predisaster condition.  "Critical services" include power, water, sewer, wastewater treatment, communications and emergency medical care.
  • Non critical facilities may receive low-interest loans for permanent repairs from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). They can contact the SBA by going to a Disaster Recovery Center, an SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center; or by calling 1-800-659-2955, or by going online to . If they are declined for an SBA loan or the loan does not cover all eligible expenses, they may re-apply for a FEMA grant.

All private nonprofit agencies needing aid from FEMA and/or the SBA are encouraged to file a Request for Public Assistance, which is available through local county emergency managers. Agencies with questions are encouraged to call their local county emergency manager.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:15
State/Tribal Government or Region: