Main Content

Garvin County Added to Presidential Disaster Declaration for Oklahoma

Release date: 
October 19, 2007
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that Garvin county has been approved for public disaster assistance. The Presidential Disaster Declaration is the result of damages from the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes that occurred May 24 thru June 1.

The nine counties, with damages from the severe weather which occurred May 24 thru June 1, now approved for Public Assistance are: Bryan, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Logan, Pontotoc, Seminole, Stephens, and Tillman.

Under the Public Assistance Grant Program, FEMA awards grants to assist state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations with the response to and recovery from disasters. The program provides funding for debris removal, implementation of emergency protective measures and permanent restoration of infrastructure. The program also encourages protection from future damage by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

Public assistance is based on a partnership between FEMA, state and local officials. FEMA is responsible for managing the program, approving grants and providing technical assistance to the state and its applicants.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:33