Main Content

Ellis And Latimer Counties Added To Presidential Disaster Declaration For Oklahoma

Release date: 
October 18, 2007
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that two additional counties have been approved for public disaster assistance. The Presidential Disaster Declaration is the result of damages from the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes that occurred August 18 thru September 12.

The 22 counties, with damages from the severe weather which occurred August 18 thru September 12, now approved for Public Assistance are: Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garvin, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Logan, McClain, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Stephens, and Washita counties.

Under the Public Assistance Grant Program, FEMA awards grants to assist state and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations with the response to and recovery from disasters. The program provides funding for debris removal, implementation of emergency protective measures and permanent restoration of infrastructure. The program also encourages protection from future damage by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

Public assistance is based on a partnership between FEMA, state and local officials. FEMA is responsible for managing the program, approving grants and providing technical assistance to the state and its applicants.  

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:33