Main Content

Disaster Aid Registration Deadline Extended to Nov. 5

Release date: 
September 27, 2007
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. ?-- The deadline to apply for individual disaster assistance for damages and losses stemming from the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes which occurred June 10 to July 25 is now extended to Nov. 5, according to the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Individuals who had damages or losses from the June 10 to July 25 severe weather in the following 39 counties may be eligible for individual assistance if they are registered with FEMA by the November 5 deadline: Atoka, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin,? Grady, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Washington Washita, and Woods counties.

"There are still persons registering every day," said Fred W. Liebe, state coordinating officer. "We don't want people with uninsured damages to their homes or businesses to miss the opportunity to register. That is why we are extending the deadline."

Federal Coordinating Officer Phillip E. Parr said, "November 5 is now the last day for residents, who incurred damages or losses from the severe weather from June 10 to July 25, to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to help them recover from this disaster. November 5 will also now be the deadline for submitting applications for low-interest disaster loans from SBA."

All that is required to apply for individual disaster assistance is one toll-free phone call to FEMA. That number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for people who are speech- or hearing-impaired. The toll-free lines are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday-Saturday. Applicants may also register by going online to or they can get assistance in registering at any Disaster Recovery Center (DRC). More than 4,725 people have registered for disaster assistance for the severe weather from June 10-July 25.? About 3,503 individuals have visited a DRC for the June 10-July 25 disaster.

Individual assistance, which is coordinated by OEM and FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from SBA are also available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The SBA is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover uninsured and uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. Disaster victims should first register with FEMA. Anyone with questions about SBA disaster assistance may contact SBA by calling toll free 1-800-659-2955 or visit the Web site at

After the application deadline, FEMA's toll-free phone line will be available to assist those who have already registered. Applicants who have questions about disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free number.?

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural...

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:33