Main Content

Twenty Oklahoma Disaster-Declared Counties Get Deadline Extension

Release date: 
August 30, 2007
Release Number: 

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- The deadline to apply for disaster assistance for losses resulting from the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes, which occurred in Oklahoma prior to July 25, has been extended to Oct. 5, state and federal officials announced today.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) said individuals and business owners in Blaine, Bryan, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Logan, Kiowa, McClain, Nowata, Oklahoma, Ottawa, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, and Washington counties, affected by the severe weather occurring prior to July 25, who are eligible for disaster assistance now have until Oct. 5, 2007 to apply.

"We don't want people with uninsured damages to their homes or businesses to miss the opportunity to register. That is why we are extending the deadline to register for disaster assistance," said Phillip E. Parr, federal coordinating officer.

The assistance, to be coordinated by OEM and FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.

Homeowners, renters, and business owners, who sustained losses in the designated counties, may apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing- or speech-impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. (local time) Monday thru Sunday.

Parr said, "October 5 will now be the last day for residents and business owners to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to help them recover from the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes which occurred in Oklahoma prior to July 25. October 5 will also be the deadline for submitting applications for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA."

State Coordinating Officer Fred W. Liebe said, "All that is required to apply for disaster assistance is a toll-free phone call to FEMA. The number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Or applicants can go online and register at But they must register before Oct. 5 to be eligible for disaster assistance."

The SBA is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover uninsured and uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. Disaster victims should first register with FEMA. Anyone with questions about SBA disaster assistance may contact SBA by calling toll free 1-800-659-2955 or visit the website at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:34