Main Content

Disaster Aid Expanded To Caledonia and Orleans Counties

Release date: 
August 24, 2007
Release Number: 

BERLIN, Vt. - Two additional counties affected by the severe storms and flooding of July 9-11 are now eligible for disaster Public Assistance, announced officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Vermont Emergency Management. Caledonia and Orleans counties have been added to the major disaster declaration providing federal funding to help communities recover in Orange, Washington and Windsor counties that was authorized by President Bush on August 3.

"These counties were added to the list of the original three Vermont counties for public assistance following a review of damage data gathered by state and federal disaster recovery officials," said Barbara Farr, state coordinating officer, Vermont Emergency Management (VEM).

Under the expanded assistance local governments in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of FEMA's continuing commitment to help Vermont achieve a full and lasting recovery," said Albie Lewis, federal coordinating officer.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:34