Main Content

Thomas County Added For FEMA Public Assistance

Release date: 
July 9, 2007
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Following additional damage assessments, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security?s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Public Assistance funding for Thomas County in the state of Nebraska to help local governments recover from damage associated with the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes May 4 ? 19, 2007.

Public Assistance funding goes to local governments, state agencies and certain approved, private, nonprofit organizations, including public utilities, to assist them in the recovery. Federal funding is also available for hazard mitigation measures statewide to increase protection against future events.

The federal disaster declaration June 6 for Nebraska made FEMA Public Assistance funding available in 18 counties, including Blaine, Brown, Cass, Custer, Gage, Garfield, Jefferson, Johnson, Keya Paha, Knox, Loup, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, and Wheeler. The amendment approved July 6 adds Thomas County to the list.

All counties in the state were eligible under the original declaration to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Application procedures for local governments are explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials. Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: