Disaster Unemployment Assistance Approved For Curry, Quay Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
April 18, 2007
Release Number: 

CLOVIS, N.M. -- The New Mexico Department of Labor is accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) from eligible individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted as a result of the recent tornadoes in Curry and Quay counties.

The claims will be accepted until May 7, 2007. Claims filed after that date will be considered untimely and benefits denied, unless the individual provides good cause for late filing.

Claims may be filed by calling 505- 841-4000, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. In order to collect DUA benefits, individuals must provide their social security number, proof of wages, and proof of employment, including the name of the last employer within 21 days of filing a claim. Self-employed individuals must provide their business and financial records, including federal income tax returns for 2006.

DUA is available to individuals for weeks of unemployment beginning March 25, 2007 and through October 6, 2007, as long as their unemployment continues to be a result of the major disaster. Benefits will not be paid for any period of unemployment before or after these dates.

For other forms of disaster assistance, victims are urged to contact the FEMA registration number, 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 only for the hearing and speech impaired.

FEMA coordinates the federal government’s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top