Main Content

Six Colorado Counties Added To FEMA Snow Emergency Declarations

Release date: 
January 29, 2007
Release Number: 

Denver, Colo. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal snow emergency funds have been made available to help state and local governments and eligible private non-profits cover specific costs related to two severe winter storms, Dec. 18-22, 2006 and Dec. 28-31, 2006.

El Paso County has been added to the first declaration for the Dec. 18-22 storm. This brings to 14 the number of Colorado counties included in the Dec. 18-22 declaration: Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Custer, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Gilpin, Jefferson, Las Animas, Pueblo and Washington.

Baca, Bent, Crowley, Prowers and Pueblo counties have been added to the second declaration for the Dec. 28-31 storm. A total of six counties are now included as part of the Dec. 28-31 declaration: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Otero, Prowers and Pueblo.

Federal assistance is provided on a cost-sharing basis covering 75 percent of eligible costs incurred for snow removal and emergency protective measures taken in response to the storms. State and local governments assume the remaining 25 percent share. The snow emergency declaration is run by a partnership between FEMA and the Colorado Division of Emergency Management (CDEM). CDEM helped coordinate response and recovery efforts with local jurisdictions during and after the blizzard.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:38