Main Content

Earthquake Grants and Loans Assistance to the People of Hawaii Tops $20 Million

Release date: 
December 6, 2006
Release Number: 

HONOLULU, Hawaii -- In the seven weeks since President Bush declared areas of Hawaii eligible for federal disaster assistance for the Kiholo Earthquake, more than $20 million in grants and low-interest loans has been approved for 2,447 families and individuals, said officials of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and Hawaii State Civil Defense.

Through December 4:

  • $7,941,699 has been approved through the FEMA Housing Program. Housing assistance provides grants to renters to find alternate housing. Homeowners may receive grants to make the home livable or, if that cannot be done, grants are given to rent alternate housing. The program is funded 100 percent by FEMA.

  • $31,713 in grants has been approved for 109 applicants under the FEMA/State Other Needs Assistance Program (ONA). These grants cover personal property, transportation, medical and dental expenses, and those who have serious and essential unmet needs.

  • $12,972,200 in low-interest disaster loans have been approved for 336 home owners, renters and business owners by the U.S. Small Business Administration for disaster-damaged personal property, real estate or economic injury.

  • 3,137 homes have been inspected for earthquake damage by FEMA.

Big Island residents who have not yet registered are urged to do so by December 22 by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time), Monday through Friday or by going o nline to at any time.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident, initiates mitigation activities and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA works closely with state and local emergency managers, law enforcement personnel, firefighters and other first responders. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: