Main Content

More Virginia Counties Declared Eligible for Public Assistance

Release date: 
July 27, 2006
Release Number: 

GLEN ALLEN, Va. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) announced today that four additional Commonwealth counties are now eligible for Public Assistance. They are:

Botetourt, Craig, Floyd and Henry

Previously, the independent City of Alexandria and the counties of Alleghany, Arlington, Bath, Dickenson, Fairfax, Highland, King George, and Rockbridge were approved on July 13.

“We are pleased to see these additional counties declared eligible for this crucial disaster aid program. Nothing can be more important to the local economy than the infusion of federal dollars to repair or replace infrastructure damaged or destroyed by the storms,” said State Coordinating Officer, Michael Cline.  “That’s not to mention the satisfaction of seeing the restoration of streets and facilities cluttered by debris.”

Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer, said “we are prepared and ready to administer the public assistance program for these additional counties quickly and efficiently.”

The federal share of eligible infrastructure recovery costs is 75 percent. The remaining share is the responsibility of the state, local governments and certain eligible non-profit organizations.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities; works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: