Main Content

Only One Week Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 29, 2006
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Missouri disaster victims living in Andrew, Butler, Dunklin, Pemiscot, Pettis, St. Francois, and Stoddard counties, have only one week left to call and apply for disaster assistance. Monday, June 5 is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"This is our final effort to reach out to any disaster victims who still haven't applied” said Ron Reynolds, Director of the Missouri State Department of Emergency Management. "Even if you have insurance, you may still be eligible for disaster assistance for underinsured losses."

Homeowners, renters, farmers, and businesses owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding between March 30 and April 3, are encouraged to apply before the June 5 deadline by calling the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech-or hearing-impaired. Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week. People may also apply online at

Applicants may qualify for disaster assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster–related needs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans.

"We don't want anyone to miss out on the assistance they are entitled to," said Thomas J. Costello, FEMA's federal coordinating officer. "If you suffered damages as a result of the March 30-April 3 severe storms and tornadoes please call and apply before the deadline."

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:10
State/Tribal Government or Region: