Main Content

Yamhill County Designated For Public Assistance

Release date: 
April 21, 2006
Release Number: 

SALEM, OR -- State and federal officials announced today that Yamhill County is eligible for disaster assistance to help local governments rebuild public property damaged during the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred Dec. 18, 2005 through Jan. 21, 2006.

Recovery funds, authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on March 20, 2006, are available through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance program. The declaration was amended April 20 to include Yamhill County.

“Assistance for Yamhill County was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials,” said State Coordinating Officer Abby Kershaw.

Affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

“Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our continuing commitment to help the state achieve a full and lasting recovery,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Lee Champagne.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at an applicant briefing for local Yamhill officials at a location to be announced shortly.

The declaration includes the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and the counties of Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Lincoln, Linn, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Wheeler, and Yamhill.

In addition, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program funds are available statewide.

FEMA manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:11
State/Tribal Government or Region: