Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For Connecticut

Release date: 
December 16, 2005
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Connecticut to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding on October 14-15 2005.

Acting FEMA Director, R. David Paulison, said President Bush declared a major disaster in Connecticut authorizing federal funding in the counties of Litchfield, New London, Tolland, and Windham counties. Additional designations may be declared at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private non-profit organizations on a cost sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the disaster.

Paulison named Peter J. Martinasco as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:28
State/Tribal Government or Region: