Main Content

Emergency Aid Authorized For Hurricane Rita Emergency Response in Texas

Release date: 
September 21, 2005
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, DC - R. David Paulison, Acting Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response and the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, today announced that Federal resources are being allocated to support emergency protective response efforts in the counties of the State of Texas located in the path of Hurricane Rita beginning on September 20, 2005, and continuing.

Paulison said President Bush authorized the aid under an emergency disaster declaration following a review of FEMA's analysis of the state's request for federal assistance. FEMA will mobilize equipment and resources necessary to protect public health and safety by assisting law enforcement with evacuations, establishing shelters, supporting emergency medical needs, meeting immediate lifesaving and life-sustaining human needs and protecting property, in addition to other emergency protective measures in all 254 counties in the State of Texas.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and to provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent of approved costs. For a period up to 72 hours, Federal funding is available at 100 percent of the total eligible costs for emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance.

Representing FEMA, Paulison named Alexander S. Wells as the Federal Coordinating Officer to coordinate the federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration. FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on March 1, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:06
State/Tribal Government or Region: