Main Content

FEMA Assistance Tops $10 Million To Help Pay Costs From Four Snow Emergencies In Maine Early This Year

Release date: 
August 23, 2005
Release Number: 

PORTLAND, Ore. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has obligated more than $10 million to reimburse state and local governments in Maine for costs incurred in four snow storms that hit the state early this year, according to disaster recovery officials. Total aid for the four winter storms is $10,056,005.72.

The funds were allocated through FEMA’s Public Assistance program. President George Bush declared the emergencies after a request from Governor John Baldacci following the storms.


More than $1 million has been approved to help pay for costs of the heavy snow on Jan. 22-23. The total is $1,498,692.53.

Two counties and the state were eligible for aid.

The state and county breakdown is as follows.
CountyFederal Aid
Cumberland$ 789,948,63
York$ 592,019.13
State of Maine$ 116,724.77
Total $1,498,692.53


An additional allocation of almost $4 million was approved for costs of the snow storm on Feb 10-11. That total was $3,998,836.12.

Thirteen counties and the state were eligible for aid. The counties were Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Washington and York.

The totals are:
CountyFederal Aid
Androscoggin$ 255,902.18
Aroostook$ 250,147.57
Cumberland$ 721,388.78
Franklin$ 118,302.77
Hancock$ 137,438.86
Kennebec$ 251,254.59
Knox$ 134,234.13
Oxford$ 234,570.16
Penobscot$ 402,922.60
Piscataquis$ 44,690.99
Somerset$ 129,618.64
Washington$ 43,551.35
York$ 489,949.69
State of Maine$ 784,863.81
Total $3,998,836.12


More than $3 million was allocated for the snow storm on March 9. The total is $3,261,706.85.

Nine counties and the state were eligible for aid: Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset and York. The totals are:


Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:44