Main Content

Two Maine Counties Added For Snow Assistance

Release date: 
April 2, 2005
Release Number: 

NEWINGTON, N.H. -- Two additional Maine counties have been declared eligible for federal disaster funds to supplement emergency response efforts for the record snow storm which struck the state on February 10-11 the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Agency (FEMA) has announced.

After a review of snow data in the area, Kennebec and Washington counties have been added to the 11 previously declared Maine counties that received assistance from President Bush's March 14 declaration for this event. Maine has also recently received snow assistance declarations for record or near-record storms on January 22-23 and March 9.

Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will reimburse state and local government agencies 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a 48-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting will also be eligible for reimbursement.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:45