Main Content

Six Ohio Counties Added To Public Assistance Declaration

Release date: 
January 25, 2005
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Federal officials have added six counties to list of seventeen counties originally declared eligible for disaster funds to supplement state and local government costs for responding to the record snowstorm that hit the state in December, the head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Lee Champagne, federal coordinating officer for the disaster, said the emergency declaration made on January 11 had been amended to include additional counties following review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

The six new counties are: Crawford, Huron, Marion, Richland, Sandusky and Seneca.

The declaration covers jurisdictions with record and near-record snowfall from the storm that occurred over the period of December 22-24, 2004. Seventeen counties were originally designated to receive federal funding to cover part of the cost for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of the snowstorm. These include state and local government operations necessary to protect public health and safety and prevent damage to public or private property.

The following counties were included in the January 11 declaration: Butler, Champaign, Clark, Drake, Delaware, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Logan, Madison, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, Union and Warren.

Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will provide reimbursement to state and local government agencies for 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a 48-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting will also be eligible for reimbursement.

FEMA prepares the nation for all hazards and manages federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates mitigation activities, trains first responders, works with state and local emergency managers, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:46