Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers To Close In Genesee And Ingham Counties

Release date: 
July 27, 2004
Release Number: 

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Federal and state officials announced today that the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) operating in Genesee and Ingham counties have served the needs of disaster victims and will close at 6 p.m. on Friday, July 30, 2004.

The Genesee County DRC is located in Burton at the City of Burton Police and Fire Administration Bldg., 4090 Manor Drive, and the Ingham County DRC is located at the Lansing Fire Station #4, 1435 E Miller Rd. in Lansing.

Two remaining DRCs are currently open in Wayne County. A DRC is located at the Fire Department Headquarters in the City of Dearborn Heights Building, 1999 N. Beech Daly (hours: Mon. – Sat. from 9:30 a..m. to 6 p.m.) and another at the Detroit City Airport, 11499 Conner St. (hours: Mon. – Fri. from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturdays from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.)

Those affected by the disaster who want to check on the status of their application can call the FEMA helpline – 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585 – for assistance. Victims who have questions about their U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan application can meet face-to-face with SBA representatives at the open disaster recovery centers. Those with SBA questions, who cannot visit a DRC, can call the SBA helpline at 1-800-359-2227.

Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Larry Bailey of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) noted that “Help with questions on federal and state disaster assistance is just a phone call away. Operators at the FEMA toll-free number are available from 8.a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday to help with many of the questions that were brought to us at the recovery center.”

August 30 is the deadline to apply for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free application number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). There is also a special toll-free number for the speech- or hearing-impaired, (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 11:01
State/Tribal Government or Region: