Main Content

Disaster Application Deadline Approaches

Release date: 
July 8, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Ohio residents and business owners in the 21 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage in the flooding between May 18 and June 21 have less than a month to apply for disaster assistance.

August 2 is the last day applications will be accepted for individual assistance, officials of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) said today. Loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by that date.

“We want people to understand that this is only an application deadline,” said Lee Champagne, federal coordinating officer for the disaster recovery. “For individuals who have already applied, their cases will continue to be processed. New applications will not be accepted after the August 2 deadline.”

“People who have not applied should do so as soon as possible by calling the toll-free application number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585, said Dale W. Shipley, state coordinating officer and executive director of Ohio EMA. “The help process can’t start until you call.”

To date, more than 32,000 individuals have applied for disaster assistance in the state. More than $17 million has been approved for individuals impacted by the disaster, including more than $2 million in disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The Ohio EMA coordinates State assistance and resources during an emergency and prepares the state for all hazards through planning, training, exercises and funding activities at the state and local level. This includes providing assistance to individuals and administering state and federal assistance to individuals and governmental entities recovering from disaster-related damage and costs. Ohio EMA coordinates homeland security funding, weapons of mass destruction training, anti-terrorism planning and training, and assists local and state agencies determine homeland strategies and priorities.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:48