Main Content

Additional County Designated For Assistance

Release date: 
April 12, 2004
Release Number: 

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. -- Sagadahoc County has been added to the list of counties eligible for federal disaster assistance for damage to public property from flooding last December, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced. The flooding, caused by periods of heavy rain, snowmelt and river ice jams, occurred from December 10 through December 31, 2003.

Under Secretary Michael D. Brown, Department of Homeland Security, Emergency Preparedness and Response, said the additional assistance was approved based on a review by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Sagadahoc was added to the six counties already authorized for aid under President Bush's February major disaster declaration. The other six counties are Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, Piscataquis, Somerset, and Waldo. The designated counties are eligible for federal funding to pay affected local governments 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities. Federal funds also will be available to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:49