Main Content

Deadline Looms For Maine Disaster Assistance Applications

Release date: 
February 23, 2004
Release Number: 

PORTSMOUTH, N.H. -- The deadline for local officials in disaster-designated Maine counties to apply for Public Assistance to reimburse emergency actions and infrastructure damage caused by the December 10-31 storms is March 6, the Federal Emergency Management Agency advised today.

Eligible applicants in the counties of Franklin, Kennebec, Oxford, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo must submit Requests for Public Assistance for reimbursement of costs incurred in the severe storms, flooding, snow melt, and ice jams by this deadline.

Under President Bush's Feb. 5 disaster declaration, eligible applicants, including state and local agencies, eligible non-profits, and federally recognized Native American tribes in designated counties can apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the eligible costs. Assistance may include debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities. Federal funds also will be available to the state on a cost shared basis for eligible projects that reduce future disaster risks.

"We urge all applicants to submit their requests to the Maine Emergency Management Agency by this date," said James N. Russo, federal coordinating officer for the disaster. "We don't want any eligible applicants to miss out on this aid." The forms may be mailed, faxed, or sent electronically.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:49