Main Content

FEMA's Helpline Available For Disaster Aid Applicants

Release date: 
February 6, 2004
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) officials announced that a Helpline is available to residents who registered for disaster assistance due to the November 10-23, 2003 rains, floods and landslides.

“Through the Helpline disaster aid applicants can get information about assistance programs or the status of their registration,” said Justo Hernandez, Federal Coordinating Officer. “Moreover, applicants can contact the Helpline to report changes to their telephone numbers, address or place where they can be reached.”

Federal disaster aid applicants living in one of the 21 disaster declared municipalities can call FEMA’s Helpline at 1-800-621-3362. Hearing or speech impaired individuals can call TTY: 1-800-462-7585. The Helpline is available Monday to Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The presidential disaster declaration included the municipalities of Aibonito, Arroyo, Cabo Rojo, Canóvanas, Fajardo, Guánica, Guayama, Juana Diaz, Lajas, Loiza, Luquillo, Maunabo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Patillas, Rio Grande, Salinas, Santa Isabel, Toa Baja, Yabucoa and Yauco.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:59
State/Tribal Government or Region: