Main Content

Helpful Tips For Disaster Applicants In Jefferson Davis County

Release date: 
June 12, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- State and federal disaster recovery officials issued these recovery assistance tips for residents of Jefferson Davis County who suffered uninsured or underinsured losses resulting from the April 6th through 25th severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. Jefferson Davis County was added June 6th to President Bush's original disaster declaration of April 24, 2003.

The essential first step is to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply toll-free with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This is the only way to obtain the federal/state disaster assistance you are eligible to receive. The number for the speech or hearing impaired is 1-800-462-7585.

Other suggestions for getting help as quickly as possible include:

  • You must call before June 23rd to apply, less than two weeks away.

  • Be sure FEMA has a current telephone number that will reach you and that your street address is prominently displayed. Your damage will be inspected. Arrange to be at home and allow sufficient time for the inspection. Missing the inspection appointment will delay getting help.

  • If you change locations after applying for federal/state assistance, call the FEMA application number, 1-800-621-3362 or TTY 1-800-462-7585, to update your new phone number and/or address. You cannot be helped if you cannot be found.

  • You should apply even if you have insurance. This establishes your eligibility for assistance in case hidden damage is discovered after you have settled with your insurance company. Even those who are insured may qualify for some federal/state assistance programs. Damage must be disaster-related, however.

  • You don't have to be a property owner to receive federal assistance. If you are a renter and lost essential personal property and are not insured for the loss, help in getting replacement is available.

  • Renters and homeowners forced from their homes by disaster damage may apply for housing assistance in order to temporarily relocate while repairs are made.

  • If you receive an SBA loan application you must complete and return it, even if you do not want a loan; it may help determine your eligibility for a grant.

  • To check the status of your application, or if you need to amend your application, for example, to report newly discovered damage, contact FEMA's information Helpline using the toll-free number, 1-800-621-3362, or 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired.

The 31 counties in which residents are eligible to apply for disaster aid are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:49
State/Tribal Government or Region: