Main Content

FEMA Obligates Another $1.85 Million In Snow Aid; Total Now $8.5 Million

Release date: 
April 16, 2003
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that another $1.85 million has been obligated to the State of New York to reimburse communities and organizations for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of severe snowstorms that blanketed the area on December 25-26, 2002 and January 3-4, 2003.

FEMA has now approved 500 applications, totaling more than $8.5 million, since President George W. Bush signed an emergency declaration for 19 counties on February 25, 2003, at the request of Governor George Pataki.

The declaration allowed state and local governments, and certain private non-profit organizations in the counties to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts, and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow. The State of New York is responsible for 12.5 percent of the eligible costs and the applicant funds the remaining 12.5 percent.

Emergency assistance is being provided for a period of 96 hours for both storms to Albany, Broome, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan and Ulster counties; for a period of 48 hours to Orange and Saratoga counties for the December storm; and 48 hours to Fulton and Tioga counties for the January storm.

The federal funding announced today includes:

  • A total of $581,845.40 for 7 applications in Albany County including $362,232.03 to the City of Albany and $145,763.80 to the Town of Bethlehem;
  • A total of $233,812.34 for 6 applications in Schenectady County including $180,906.33 to the County of Schenectady;
  • A total of $513,101.52 for 13 applications in Ulster County including $222,574.43 to the County of Ulster.

Since President Bush's emergency declaration, 644 communities and organizations in the declared counties have applied for federal assistance. Additional federal funding will be announced as applicants are approved.

The following is a list of the number of applications approved to date in each of the 19 counties and the total amount of corresponding federal assistance:

Albany 25 $1,205,450.71
Broome 26 $403,752.59
Chenango 32 $340,373.12
Columbia 25 $506,853.18
Delaware 26 $372,128.10
Fulton 19 $121,804.35
Greene 23 $340,848.44
Herkimer 31 $418,925.50
Montgomery 16 $198,585.26
Oneida 34 $298,773.04
Orange 32 $606,390.55
Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:45
State/Tribal Government or Region: