Main Content

Additional Tennessee Counties Now Eligible For State/FEMA Funds

Release date: 
April 14, 2003
Release Number: 

Atlanta, GA -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has declared two additional western Tennessee counties eligible for reimbursement for disaster-related damage to public property caused by severe storms in mid-February.

Hardin and Lauderdale counties join 26 other Tennessee counties declared eligible for Public Assistance on March 14 by President Bush. The counties were added after a review of damage data gathered in continuing assessments by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

The designation was made by Michael D. Brown, FEMA director and under secretary designee for the Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, a part of the Department of Homeland Security, at the request of Gov. Phil Bredesen.

The Public Assistance recovery program provides technical assistance and federal funding to reimburse 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the repair or replacement of damaged public facilities. Funding is limited to affected local and state agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations that deliver essential public services.

Eligible counties now include: Anderson, Bledsoe, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Cumberland, Decatur, Fentress, Grainger, Hancock, Hardin, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Johnson, Lauderdale, Lewis, Loudon, Marion, Meigs, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Stewart, Union and Van Buren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: