Main Content

Preble County Designated For Public Assistance

Release date: 
April 7, 2003
Release Number: 

Chillicothe, OH -- Disaster assistance for Preble County has been made available to help local governments impacted by February's severe winter storm, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Micahel D. Brown, FEMA director and under secretary designee for the Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, a part of the Department of Homeland Security, said the assistance was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Affected local governments in Preble County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay part of the cost for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of record and near-record snowfall. FEMA will reimburse local governments for 75 percent of eligible costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a continuous 48-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

With the addition of Preble County today, 29 Ohio counties are eligible for some type of disaster assistance under President Bush's March 14 disaster declaration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: