Main Content

Public Assistance Requests Due April 9

Release date: 
April 1, 2003
Release Number: 

Springfield, MA - Local governments and private certain non-profit organizations, in designated counties in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Connecticut have until April 9 to submit applications for assistance if they want emergency costs for winter snow clearance to be considered for reimbursement, State and Federal Emergency Management (FEMA) officials said today.

The assistance to communities covers 75 percent of the eligible costs during a specified 48-period, according to James N. Russo, Federal Coordinating Officer.

The area covered in the emergency declaration by President Bush on March 11 specified:

  • Connecticut - Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland, Windham counties;
  • New Hampshire - Cheshire, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, Strafford counties;
  • Maine - Aroostook County;
  • Massachusetts - Barnstable, Berkshire, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Nantucket, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, Worcester counties.

In a subsequent March 27 declaration Rhode Island was made eligible for assistance. Officials from jurisdictions in Providence and Washington counties have until April 26 to submit applications. A schedule of briefing on procedures is being developed for them.

"Emergency costs must have occurred as a result of snow removal following the heavy winter storms which struck on February 2-4 in Maine and February 17-18 in the four other states," said Russo.

State and Federal official met with local officials to explain the public assistance program in all four of the New England states last month. The briefings outlined to local officials how they could apply for help for costs of equipment operations, sanding and salting, contract personnel and equipment, and overtime for permanent personnel.

Briefing for Rhode Island officials from Providence and Washington counties is now being organized and a final meeting in Connecticut is scheduled tomorrow at 10 a.m. at the Office of Policy and Management, 450 Capital St., Hartford.

Any prospective applicant who has not applied should contact the public assistance officer at their state emergency management organization: Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency, Maine Emergency Management Agency, New Hampshire Department of Safety, Emergency Management, Connecticut State Office of Policy and Management, and the Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:45
State/Tribal Government or Region: