Main Content

Tornado Assistance To Tennessee Tops $12 Million

Release date: 
December 20, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- Federal and state disaster assistance to individuals, businesses and local governments in 22 disaster-stricken Tennessee counties totaled more than $12.1 million Friday, with more than 520 checks sent directly to individuals and families who qualified for the various assistance programs and who sustained losses.

President Bush issued a major disaster declaration on Nov. 13, making federal disaster aid available to Tennessee as a result of the tornadoes and severe storms that struck across the state from November 9-12.

Through Thursday, December 19, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) had received 1,342 registrations for assistance. Tennessee households have received more than $520,000 to make their homes livable or find temporary alternative housing. More than $945,000 has been approved to cover disaster-related expenses, such as replacement of personal property, alternate transportation, and other necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

The United States Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $7.4 million in disaster loans to assist disaster victims with repairing their property or replacing lost personal items.

Tennessee residents who suffered damages should call the FEMA toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362), which is available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time, Monday through Friday. Those with speech or hearing impairments can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register. The deadline for registration is January 13, 2001.

The 20 Tennessee counties that have been declared eligible for assistance to individuals, households and businesses are Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton, and Van Buren.

The FEMA Public Assistance Program has obligated more than $3.3 million to tornado-stricken Tennessee counties. These funds reimburse local governments for debris removal, the repair of public buildings and utilities, and overtime paid to police officers, firefighters and other emergency personnel. FEMA provides 75 percent funding for such projects, while the applicant pays the remaining 25 percent.

The 16 counties eligible for the Public Assistance program are: Anderson, Bedford, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Gibson, Madison, Marshall, Meigs, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Tipton, Van Buren and Warren.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:45
State/Tribal Government or Region: