Main Content

FEMA Director Extends Incident Period For Recent Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
September 30, 2002
Release Number: 

Ladysmith, WI -- The incident period for the Wisconsin disaster declaration has been reopened in response to continued assessment indicating damage and loss occurring several days following the severe weather that occurred on September 2, 2002. The 19 counties made eligible for disaster assistance include: Barron, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Polk, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, St. Croix, Taylor, Washburn, Waupaca and Wood.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the action was taken following a letter of request by Governor Scott McCallum that indicated the severe damages to public infrastructure, private homes and businesses sustained from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding occurring from Labor Day through Friday, September 6, 2002.

"We're working with local communities in disaster-declared counties to determine the extent of damage," Alan B. Shanks, state coordinating officer, Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM), said. "We want to make sure our residents and communities get the help they need to recover from these storms."

"FEMA and the state of Wisconsin stand ready to provide a variety of assistance programs and services to every eligible homeowner, renter, business owner in the areas affected by the recent disaster. This amendment to the original declaration extends the incident period of that disaster from one to five days," said FEMA federal coordinating officer Gracia Czszech. "We urge anyone who suffered damage in that time period, from September 2 through September 6, to call immediately to apply for assistance."

To apply for disaster assistance, people may call the FEMA toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. The number to call for the hearing and speech-impaired is 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56