Main Content

Aid For Colorado Wildfires Tops $28.3 Million Disaster Recovery Update

Release date: 
August 13, 2002
Release Number: 
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $7.9 million in low-interest disaster assistance loans.

  • As of Aug.13, a total of 2,652 Colorado residents and businesses have registered for disaster assistance.

  • More than $247,000 has been approved for individuals to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs.

  • State officials have approved more than $392,000 in funds for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance. IFG may be used to cover disaster-related expenses, such as essential home repairs, replacement of personal property, transportation, and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • A total of 134 Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) claims have been filed and $42,055 in assistance has been disbursed. The deadline for filing an application has been extended to Aug. 23.

  • Individuals and businesses may apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. weekdays. The deadline to register for assistance has been extended to Sept. 9.

  • Colorado received a federal disaster declaration June 19 because of wildfires burning throughout the state. The initial declaration covered 56 counties and two Indian reservations. All areas were designated for the Individual Assistance Program, which provides assistance to eligible households and businesses in the form of grants or low-interest loans.

  • On Aug. 1, the declaration was extended to cover Jackson, Larimer and Weld Counties because of the Big Elk fire.

  • Areas included in the disaster declaration are Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Broomfield (city/county), Chaffee, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Delta, Denver (city/county), Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jackson Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lake, La Plata, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Otero, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel, Summit, Teller, Washington, Weld and Yuma counties, and the Southern Ute and Ute Mountain Ute reservations.

  • Colorado has received 17 Fire Management Assistance (FMA) declarations this year. FMA Grants are made available to state and local governments and Indian tribes to minimize immediate adverse effects and to manage and control fires that threaten to cause major disasters. Under these grants, FEMA will pay 75 percent of eligible costs incurred by state and local governments in fighting the wildfires. On June 14, Colorado received a $20 million advance of these funds to battle the wildfires.

  • FEMA Fire Manag...
Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56