Main Content

Two Weeks Left to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Release date: 
July 25, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- Eastern Iowa farmers, migrant workers, and others who lost work during the recent flooding may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Wednesday, August 7, is the deadline for residents of Des Moines, Lee, Louisa, and Henry counties to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

This program extends coverage to people ineligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state unemployment insurance program. Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers, farm and ranch owners, agricultural producers, commission-paid employees and others who lost work due to the floods that affected eastern Iowa counties from June 3 to June 25, 2002.

Individuals who are not sure if they qualify under this program should apply to ensure that everyone who is eligible is assisted. Individuals must apply during the open application period, even if they do not expect to receive benefits immediately.

Persons applying for unemployment benefits should be able to provide proof of past earnings at the time they file a claim, such as business records or bank statements and their 2001 or most recent income tax forms. DUA claims may be filed at any Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) Center in the state. Iowa Workforce Development will also assist DUA claimants in finding reemployment through testing, counseling, and placement services.

To locate the Workforce Development Center in your area, visit the IWD Web site at: //, or call 800-JOB-IOWA.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56