Main Content

Additional Alaskan Communities Eligible For Disaster Aid

Release date: 
July 16, 2002
Release Number: 

Anchorage, AK --State and federal officials announced July 16 that disaster assistance is now available for an additional two communities in Alaska. The Alaska communities of Alakanuk and Emmonak in the Lower Yukon Regional Educational Attendance Area are now eligible for jurisdictional Public Assistance funding. This assistance comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of the Spring break up flooding that occurred April 27 to May 30.

The designation means that the two affected jurisdictions are eligible for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved costs for a variety of programs which could include debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and restoring damaged public facilities.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our commitment to help Alaska achieve a full and lasting recovery," said FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh.

The funds were authorized under FEMA's public assistance program for state and local governments after the major disaster declaration was issued by President Bush on June 26. The declaration was made following a request by Alaska Governor Tony Knowles.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:40
State/Tribal Government or Region: