Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Deadline Two Weeks Away

Release date: 
July 15, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- State and federal officials have announced the deadlines for applying for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) for people who are out of work due to the floods that affected eastern Iowa counties from June 3 to June 25, 2002.

Monday, July 29, is the application deadline for residents of Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Muscatine, Scott, and Winneshiek counties. Individuals must apply during the open application period, even if they do not expect to receive benefits immediately.

This program extends coverage to people ineligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state unemployment insurance program. Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers, farm and ranch owners, agricultural producers, commission-paid employees and others not covered by regular programs who lost work as a result of the disaster. Individuals who are not sure if they qualify under this program should apply to ensure that everyone who is eligible is assisted.

Persons applying for unemployment benefits should be able to provide proof of past earnings at the time they file a claim, such as business records or bank statements and their 2001 or most recent income tax forms. DUA claims may be filed at any Iowa Workforce Development Center in the state. Iowa Workforce Development will also assist DUA claimants in finding reemployment through testing, counseling, and placement services.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56