Main Content

You Can Register For State/Federal Disaster Assistance Only By Calling FEMA's Registration Number

Release date: 
July 10, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- State and federal officials announce that the only way to get state/federal disaster assistance for those affected by the Rodeo-Chediski fire is to call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at it's toll-free registration line.

Visiting a Red Cross center or local/county office will not register you for state/federal disaster assistance. You must call the FEMA registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Operators will assist you between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Calling the above number allows you to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs that can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses of all sizes to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number;
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
  • Your social security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged;
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name; and
  • General financial information.

The Arizona Division of Emergency Management coordinates emergency services and the efforts of governmental agencies to reduce the impact of disasters on persons and property through disaster mitigation programs and the coordination of federal, state and local government agencies to respond to, and recover from, disasters through training and emergency response planning.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:40
State/Tribal Government or Region: