Main Content

Iowa Flood Relief More Than $2 Million

Release date: 
July 5, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- In the 16 days since the federally declared disaster for flooding in 21 Iowa counties more than $2 million in federal and state disaster assistance has been approved to help Iowa residents and businesses with recovery.

On June 19, President Bush declared a major disaster for flooding that began June 3 in Eastern Iowa. Seventeen counties were declared at that time making residents and business owners eligible for a number of state and federal disaster aid programs. In the following days, four additional counties were added to the declaration bringing the total to 21.

The declared counties are: Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fayette, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott and Winnesheik.

As of July 5, almost 1200 Iowa residents have registered for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number for speech or hearing impaired is 1-800-462-7585.

"We are making every effort to help those who suffered damages from the floods that struck the state this June," said Pete Martinasco, Federal Coordinating Officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "We would like to get people back on their feet as quickly as possible."

The assistance funds have been in the form of housing grants, disaster unemployment assistance, individual and family grants, and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans.

Of the more than $2 million approved through July 5, checks for more than $1.4 million were sent to 791 applicants for disaster housing assistance. This amount included grants for alternate rental housing and money for emergency repairs.

The state administered individual and family grant program has approved 90 payments for more than $175,000 in assistance and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved nearly $540,000 in low interest disaster loans for homeowners and businesses.

"Meeting the needs of disaster victims is our top priority," said Steve Zimmerman, State Coordinating Officer for Iowa. "People who suffered damage should know that we are making every effort to get assistance to those affected. Help is on the way."

  • Disaster recovery centers remain open in five counties. To date 222 people have visited centers in Clinton, Dubuque, Jones, Linn and Scott counties seeking answers to disaster related questions on FEMA programs, state programs and SBA low-interest loans.

  • Recovery centers are located in: Clinton County at Charlotte Community Center, 115 - 1st St., Charlotte. Dubuque County at The Old Library Room, City Hall Building, 338 1st Ave. East, Dyersville. Jones County at Soldier's Memorial/American Legion Hall, 226 East 1st St., Monticello. Linn County at Four Oaks Inter-Generational Center (formerly St. Mark's Lutheran Church), 2100- 1st Ave. NE, Cedar Rapids. Scott County at Scott County Community College, Student Life Center, Room 500 E, 500 Belmont Rd. Bettendorf. Centers are open Monday - Saturday 9 a.m.- 6 p.m., except Linn County which closes at 5 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available through Iowa Workforce Development for those who lost income because of the disaster, including farmers, farm workers,...
Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56