Main Content

Don't Disqualify Yourself From Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
July 3, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- Iowa residents affected by June flash flooding are being urged by state and federal officials to apply for assistance as soon as possible, and not to prejudge their eligibility for the variety of programs and services offered disaster victims under the June 19 presidential declaration.

Application for all types of disaster assistance starts with a single call to Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number 1 800 621 FEMA (3362). People with hearing or speech impairments may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. All Iowans who sustained damage as a result of the storms that occurred between June 3 and June 25, regardless of where in Iowa they live, should register for disaster assistance.

"It's easy, efficient, and the only way to begin the process of helping us to help you," explains Federal Coordinating Officer Pete Martinasco. "And, don't prejudge your eligibility. Disaster assistance programs are designed to provide the safety net that makes help available whenever it's needed."

"Everyone affected by this disaster should apply. Don't disqualify yourself, even if you've been affected by other disasters or applied for aid in the past," says Steve Zimmerman, Iowa State Coordinating Officer.

Iowa residents affected by the flooding may be eligible for programs and services offered by the State, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and voluntary agencies including: assistance to pay for temporary housing, emergency repair or rebuilding, low-interest SBA loans, individual and family grants to cover unmet needs, crisis counseling, and disaster unemployment assistance.

The toll-free application number is answered from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. It will be closed for Independence Day, July 4.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56