Main Content

Disaster Assistance Exceeds $1 Million

Release date: 
June 28, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- State and federal officials announced today that more than $1 million in disaster assistance has been approved to aid victims of the flooding that devastated 17 Iowa counties beginning June 3.

The assistance, coordinated by the Iowa Emergency Management Division (IEMD) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has been granted to individuals, families and businesses affected by the storms.

State and federal authorities strongly urge anyone in Iowa affected by this storm to apply for disaster aid. Calling the FEMA's teleregistration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) is the first and most important step in applying for aid. For speech- or hearing-impaired, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, seven days a week.

In the nine days since the disaster was declared on June 19, almost 1,000 applicants have called the registration number to seek help. Applications are being taken daily.

A large part of the response has been grants from FEMA's Disaster Housing program. These grants assist persons who were unable to stay in their homes and had to find alternative living accommodations, or were required to make minimal repairs to make the home habitable.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has forwarded more than 773 applications to storm victims for home repair loans, small business loans, and loans to assist businesses suffering economic injury from this disaster. The first step in applying for SBA loans is calling the FEMA toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

There are approximately 125 highly skilled state and federal personnel working in Disaster Field Offices in Iowa. Many will remain in the area until all of the victims have been assisted.

Disaster Recovery Centers have been opened in: Dubuque County at The Old Library Room, City Hall Building, 338 1st Ave. East, Dyersville, Iowa; Linn County at Four Oaks Inter-Generational Center (formerly St. Mark's Lutheran Church), 2100- 1st Ave. NE, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Clinton County at Charlotte Community Center, 115 - 1st St., Charlotte, Iowa.

Two disaster recovery centers will open on Monday, July 1. In Jones County, the center will be located in Soldier's Memorial/American Legion Hall, 226 East 1st St., Monticello, Iowa. In Scott County, the center will be located at Scott County Community College, 500 Belmont Road, Student Life Center, Room 2300-E, Parking Lot C - Door 4, Bettendorf, Iowa.

Each center will be open Monday-Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. The centers will be closed July 4 and open on July 5 and 6.

The Iowa Disaster Human Resource Council continues to coordinate disaster response activities among volunteer, community and faith based organizations and is working to develop long-term recovery plans for this disaster.

Officials stress that the only way for people in need to access any of these programs is by calling the FEMA registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56