Main Content

Two More Disaster Recovery Centers to Open

Release date: 
June 26, 2002
Release Number: 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- To further help individuals and businesses affected by June 3 flooding, the State of Iowa and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open two Disaster Recovery Centers on Friday, June 28. Each center will be open Monday-Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. The centers will be closed July 4 and open on July 5 and 6. The centers will be in:

Linn County
Four Oaks Inter-Generational Center
(formerly St. Mark's Lutheran Church)
2100 - 1st Ave. NE
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Clinton County
Charlotte Community Center
115 - 1st Street
Charlotte, Iowa

The Disaster Recovery Centers are designed to provide more detailed program information to those who have already applied for assistance under President Bush's June 19 disaster declaration and who may have questions about their applications. Representatives of state, federal, and voluntary agencies will be present, including loan officers from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). The disaster programs available include temporary housing assistance, individual and family grants, low-interest SBA loans and other aid programs. PLEASE NOTE: financial assistance is not directly provided from these centers.

All Iowa homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers, or business owners who sustained damage as a result of severe storms and flooding that began on June 3, regardless of where in Iowa they live, should register for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). People with hearing or speech impairments may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., CDT, seven days a week.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56