Main Content

More Than $7.8 Million Approved for Disaster Assistance; Application Deadline Set for July 20

Release date: 
June 21, 2002
Release Number: 

Springfield, IL -- Just one month after President Bush authorized a major disaster declaration for Illinois, more than $7.8 million in disaster grants and low-interest loans has been approved for more than half of the 3,000 Illinois residents who have called to apply for assistance. Homeowners, renters and business owners in a total of 68 counties throughout central and southern Illinois may be eligible for individual assistance and 33 of those counties are also eligible for infrastructure assistance to local governments.

According to figures released by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), at the close of business on June 20, the following numbers of people have applied for or received assistance:

  • 3,021 Applications have been received (1-800-621-3362)
  • 369 Rental assistance grants approved totaling $254,963.00
  • 1,377 Emergency essential repair grants approved totaling $2,211,614.00
  • 86 SBA low-interest loans approved totaling $4,599,100.00
  • 434 Individual and Family Grants approved totaling $743,648.00

Application Deadline Set for July 20

Individuals, families, and business owners who suffered losses, which occurred between April 21 and May 23 in the 68 declared counties, have until July 20 to apply for disaster assistance. Residents can apply by calling FEMA's toll-free number, 1 800 621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1 800 462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired. These numbers are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate you for your entire loss. If you have insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under your insurance policy. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other forms of help may come in the form of loans. The FEMA representative will explain the details to you when you call.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

The SBA has opened temporary disaster loan assistance offices in six Illinois counties to help individuals and businesses with their disaster loan applications. The offices will be open until further notice at these locations and times:

Mt. Vernon - 227 South 9th Street
Monday - Friday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Edwardsville - Madison County Government Admin. Bldg. (ground floor)
157 N. Main Street
Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Decatur - American Red Cross
Mid Illinois Chapter
500 East Lake Shore Drive
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Cairo - 1st National Bank (Corner of 8th St. & Washington St.)
800 Washington Street
Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Springfield - Property Management Center
200 East Lake Drive
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Fairview Heights- Fairview Heights Fire Station # 1
10045 Bunkum Road
Monday - Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

SBA officials urge applicants to complete their loan application packet and return it as soon as possible, even if they have not received a final settlement from their insurance company. If the loan application packet is not returned it will delay other forms of disaster assistance.

Disaster Housing Assistance

Individuals and famili...

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:53
State/Tribal Government or Region: