Main Content

Federal Disaster Aid Now Available

Release date: 
June 19, 2002
Release Number: 

Kansas City, MO -- President Bush today declared a federal disaster for 17 counties in Iowa.

The 17 counties designated are Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clayton, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Muscatine, Scott, and Winneshiek. The declaration makes federal assistance available to eligible homeowners, renters, and business owners who sustained damage as a result of the storms and flooding.

Federal disaster funds also have been made available for Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones, and Linn counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the same storms.

Iowa residents are encouraged to register for disaster assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for those who are hearing- or speech-impaired. The toll-free numbers will be available starting June 20 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (CDT), seven days a week until further notice.

"All Iowa residents who sustained damage from this violent weather should register with FEMA, no matter where in the state they live," said FEMA's Regional Director, Dick Hainje. "You must register to determine eligibility for federal and state assistance programs."

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56