Main Content

FEMA Honors Private Sector Partners For Special Flood Insurance Achievements

Release date: 
June 17, 2002
Release Number: 

Washington, D.C.-- The Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration (FIMA), a part of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), has recognized several outstanding insurance and lending industry partners with special awards for their contributions to the National Flood Insurance Program.

Deputy Administrator for Insurance Howard Leikin presented the awards at the annual National Flood Conference held May 19-22 in New Orleans, La., attended by more than 700 representatives of the banking and insurance industries, flood zone determination companies, realtors, local and state officials, and officials of FEMA. This year's conference focused on technological advances in flood-hazard mapping, pre-disaster mitigation and loss prevention, risk management, lender compliance, and policy growth and retention.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh praised the insurance and lending representatives for their support in making the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) a success. "Your efforts to serve property owners nationwide prevent an enormous amount of financial suffering in flood-affected communities each year," he said.

The following awards honored FIMA's private sector partners for their accomplishments in promoting flood insurance:

The Agency of the Year Award was given to three insurance agencies that have displayed innovative marketing strategies, increased their flood portfolios and actively promoted flood insurance awareness. The winners were Gristina Agency, LLC of Mandeville, La.; Coastal Insurance Agency of Destin, Fla.; and Keer and Heyer Insurance Agency of Point Pleasant Beach, N.J.

The Administrator's Club Award goes to those companies selling and servicing federally backed flood insurance that have achieved significant growth in new policies. The company with the highest percentage of growth and more than 2,500 new policies is also recognized with a trophy. This year's winners were Selective Insurance Co., Branchville, N.J.; Farmers Insurance Group, Los Angeles, Calif.; United Surety & Indemnity Co., Guaynabo, P.R.; American Strategic Insurance Corp., St. Petersburg, Fla. (Administrator's Cup); and United Property and Casualty Insurance Co., St. Petersburg, Fla.

The Administrator's Quill Award recognizes the highest percentage of overall growth among the largest Write Your Own companies. The winner was Farmer's Insurance Group, Los Angeles, Calif.

Winners of the Public Awareness Materials Contest were selected by the conference participants after viewing all the materials on display. The winners were Bankers Insurance Co., St. Petersburg, Fla. (best printed marketing material, best advertising material); Farmers Insurance Group, Los Angeles, Calif. (best training material); and Mobile USA Insurance Co., Pinellas Park, Fla. (best web site).

The Roy T. Short Memorial Award is given by the National Lenders' Insurance Council to an "innovative and inspiring" person who has rendered the best service to lenders in helping them comply with federal flood insurance regulations while protecting investors and consumers from flood losses. It is presented in memory of the former vice president of Bank United and of the National Lenders' Insurance Council. This year's recipient was Jeri Williams, vice president for flood administration, S...

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 12:56