Main Content

Additional South Dakota Counties Eligible for Disaster Aid

Release date: 
May 30, 2001
Release Number: 

Watertown, SD -- State and federal officials announced today that disaster assistance is available to six additional counties in South Dakota. The newly declared counties are Brown, Day, Hanson, Marshall, Moody and Turner. This follows a review of information regarding damages that occurred as a result of severe winter storms, flooding and ice jams that impacted the state from March 1 through April 30.

Under the declaration, state, tribal and local governments in declared counties may apply for federal public assistance funding for 75 percent of eligible disaster-related costs. Assistance includes debris removal, emergency services, and the repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges and utilities. The declaration also makes cost-share funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

"State, federal and local governments are working together to assist the long-term recovery efforts of South Dakota communities included in the disaster," said Governor Bill Janklow.

The additions bring to 17 the number of South Dakota counties eligible for public assistance. Other declared counties are Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Mellette, Roberts, Sanborn and Spink.

The declaration does not include federal assistance to individuals and businesses. Residents who need assistance with flood-related damages should contact their local emergency manager to find out what help may be available from community organizations.

Last Updated: 
January 3, 2018 - 13:01