Main Content

Mobile Disaster Recovery Center Extends Outreach

Release date: 
March 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Tupelo, MS -- As the federal-state disaster recovery effort gains momentum, a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) mobile disaster recovery center (DRC) will begin making rounds in five additional disaster-stricken counties beginning next week.

The mobile center, a satellite-equipped FEMA bus, will be used in addition to the two fixed-location DRCs in southern Mississippi, and will be available to advise residents on how to obtain aid they are eligible to receive.

Staffed by disaster assistance specialists from FEMA and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and other agencies, the mobile unit will enable those who have already registered for assistance to check the status of their applications.

All of the centers will offer information on constructing safe rooms and rebuilding damaged structures to make them more disaster resistant.

Disaster Recovery centers do not register applicants. They serve the people in the declared disaster area who have sustained losses and have registered. Representatives of the U. S. Small Business Administration and other programs also are available.

The first stop for the mobile unit will be at the Department of Human Services, 923 Sawmill Road in Laurel. The center will be open Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, March 26 - 28, from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Other stops on the schedule include:

Perry County: Thursday, Friday and Saturday, March 29 - 31
Dept. of Human Services, 1502 Bolton Ave.
Beaumont, MS

Pearl River County: Sunday and Monday, April 1 - 2
Dept. of Human Services, 917 Goodyear Blvd, Suite A
Picayune, MS

Walthall County: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, April 3 - 5
Dept. of Human Services, 910 Union Road
Tylertown, MS

Wilkinson County: Friday and Saturday, April 6 - 7
Dept. of Human Services, 967 1st South Street/Sligo Street
Woodville, MS

The mobile center, while in the above counties, will be operational from noon to 6:00 p.m. on the first day of visit, and from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. thereafter.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: