Main Content

Eight Additional Counties Approved For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
March 16, 2001
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Washington State and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today at the disaster field office in Qlympia that eight additional counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration for the 6.8 magnitude earthquake that struck Western Washington on Feb. 28.

The new counties are: Cowlitz, Island, Jefferson, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Wahkiakum and Yakima. The addition of these counties makes a total of 16 counties in the disaster area, joining Grays Harbor, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Snohomish, and Thurston.

The addition of these eight counties makes individuals eligible for disaster relief programs available under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. The programs provide grants for temporary housing from FEMA, and low interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for affected homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.

Grays Harbor County (already designated for Individual Assistance) and Skagit County are also designated for Public Assistance. All counties in the State of Washington were previously designated for Hazard Mitigation assistance.

To register for disaster assistance, individuals need to call the toll-free number, 1-800-462-9029. Hearing or speech-impaired persons may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: