Main Content

Register For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
March 15, 2001
Release Number: 

Tupelo, MS -- The way to federal and state disaster assistance that became available to storm victims in southern Mississippi counties Thursday is an easy one. Call 1-800-462-9029!

All it takes is a toll-free telephone call to get the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) delivering aid to those who suffered losses.

The number is 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired.

Fifty of Mississippi's 82 counties are now a federal disaster area. The new counties join 35 northern counties previously declared for Feb 16 and 24 storms.

Disaster officials emphasized that it's important to register as soon as possible to avoid delays in getting help. Registrants get a tracking number that also can speed processing of SBA low-interest loan applications.

Assistance is now available in Forrest, Lamar, Marion, Walthall, Lincoln, Scott, Pearl River, Amite, Jones, Pike, Franklin, Tate, Neshoba, Wilkinson and Perry counties.

It includes aid to individuals and families with temporary housing and to meet needs not covered by insurance or community service agencies.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:57
State/Tribal Government or Region: