Main Content

Local Assistance Center To Open

Release date: 
November 4, 2000
Release Number: 

Phoenix, AZ -- A local assistance center (LAC) will open in Wickenburg today to help Arizonans who suffered damage in October's flooding, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and Arizona Division of Emergency Management (ADEM) announced today.

The center, at 160 N. Valentine, Wickenburg, will be open daily from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

A bank of telephones has been set up so those who have flood damage can call FEMA's toll-free registration number to seek the help they may be eligible to receive. David Fukutomi, federal coordinating officer, and Mike Austin, state coordinating officer, urged anyone who suffered loss or damages from the flooding to register for assistance by calling the toll-free number, 1-800-462-9029. Those with speech or hearing impairments can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

The center will be staffed with people who can answer questions and provide additional information. Staffing is planned by:

  1. FEMA to explain assistance programs and help with teleregistration.
  2. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).
  3. The Arizona State Board of Contractors.
  4. Arizona Mental Health Services.
  5. Hazard mitigation staff to advise on common-sense strategies homeowners can use to minimize losses from future disasters.

Literature will also be available explaining various assistance programs.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

Temporary Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, may be available to individuals and families whose homes were destroyed or made uninhabitable as a result of damage from the flooding. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations or minimal home repairs needed to make a property safe, secure and habitable.

Low-interest loans from the SBA may be available to homeowners, renters or businesses of all sizes for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.

Grants, administered by the state, may be available to individuals and families who have serious immediate disaster-related needs that cannot be met by other sources.

"Assistance is determined case by case and only covers losses or damages not covered by insurance or other aid programs," Fukutomi said. "The funds are available to all disaster-affected people whenever the President issues a disaster declaration."

To be eligible for federal disaster assistance, individuals must reside or do business in the area included in the disaster declaration, which to date includes La Paz and Maricopa counties.

Last Updated: 
July 8, 2017 - 10:44
State/Tribal Government or Region: