Main Content

Disaster Assistance Registration Hours Change

Release date: 
October 19, 2000
Release Number: 

San Francisco, CA -- The hours when Napa County earthquake victims can register for federal and state disaster assistance will change as of Friday October 20, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The Teleregistration and disaster information Helpline will be in operation seven days a week from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time (PST).

Homeowners, renters and businesses who were affected by the earthquake, but have not yet registered, should do so before the November 13 deadline by calling the toll-free teleregistration line at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired.

Disaster assistance programs include grants for temporary housing, emergency home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Those who have registered for assistance can call the Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 to find out the status of their registration and additional information.

"We are changing the hours for registration because of reduced calls by disaster victims," said Mark Ghilarducci, Napa County Earthquake federal coordinating officer. "However, we encourage those who have not yet registered to make that call and get the assistance process going."

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: